Monthly Archives: January 2014

First round uni offers

Congratulations to our Class of 2013 Applied Engineering graduates who today received first round university offers:

  • Victoria Filsell – B Science (Flinders University)
  • Jack Lord – B Science (University of Adelaide)
  • Alex deVries vanLeeuwen – B Science (Mineral GeoScience) (University of Adelaide)
  • Chris Chisolm – B Engineering (Civil) (University of South Australia)
  • Daniel Ridley – B Engineering (Civil & Structural) (University of South Australia)

The Applied Engineering course at St Patrick’s was developed specifically to create pathways into university courses such as these. Students benefit from having a solid practical knowledge from their Certificate II training undertaken at St Patrick’s in either Metals & Engineering or Electrotechnology, to go with their theoretical studies in Mathematics and Physics.

Congratulations also to Mrs Celina Bolding for her work in coordinating and delivering this program over the past three years. Celina has moved on to the University of South Australia this year to work in the school engagement programs. Taking over from Celina in running the Applied Engineering course is Mr Andrew Costi.

2013 Graduation & Award Winners

In a wonderful evening at the Adelaide Convention Centre in early December, St Patrick’s Technical College farewelled the graduating class of 2013 and congratulated those students recognised as the most outstanding in their courses.

The St Patrick’s Technical College Graduation Dinner has become the most anticipated event on the College’s calendar over the past few years. With over 400 guests and almost 20 awards sponsors, the night is as spectacular as it is a celebration of the achievements of our students.

A feature of the 2013 event was the Ai Group Training Services Address given by Mr Raymond Garrand, Chief Executive of the Department for Further Education, Employment, Science and Technology. A strong supporter of our College, Mr Garrand spoke of the importance of vocational training for the future prosperity of South Australia.

Students recognised on the night for their outstanding achievements as part of the Class of 2013 were:

Principal’s Award – Student of the Year
Nathan Mastantuono (presented by Adelaide Tools)

Max Davids Award – Apprentice of the Year
Sarah Voigt (presented by Group Training Australia (SA))

Catholic Education SA Technical College Award for School Spirit
Connor Hogan-Manning (presented by Allan Miller Driving School)

Long Tan Award for Leadership and Teamwork
Victoria Filsell (presented by the Australian Defence Forces)

Applied Engineering – Student of the Year
Victoria Filsell (presented by CalibreOne)

Automotive – Apprentice of the Year
Declan Stanton (presented by MTA Group Training Services)

Automotive – Student of the Year
Ian Worrall (presented by Cavpower)

Building & Construction – Apprentice of the Year
Matthew Weston (presented by Totally Workwear)

Building & Construction – Student of the Year
Brock Kennedy (presented by Statewide Group Training)

Electrotechnology – Apprentice of the Year
Jake Marzocca (presented by Master Electricians Australia)

Electrotechnology – Student of the Year
Nathan Mastantuono (presented by Training Prospects)

Food & Hospitality / Hair & Beauty – Apprentice of the Year
Sarah Voigt (presented by Hospitality Group Training)

Food & Hospitality / Hair & Beauty – Student of the Year
Joanna Cecere-Palazzo (presented by TAFE SA)

Metals & Engineering – Apprentice of the Year
Joshua Slater (presented by MEGT)

Metals & Engineering – Student of the Year
Sonja Cripps (presented by Resources & Engineering Skills Alliance)

Plumbing – Apprentice of the Year
Ashton Yip (presented by TAPS)

Plumbing – Student of the Year
Pearse Hogan-Manning (presented by PEER VEET)