Class of 2019 Graduation & Awards Dinner

2019 Graduation_2 (Demo)

Over 350 family, friends, staff and industry supporters celebrated the achievements of our Year 12 students at the St Patrick’s Technical College Class of 2019 Graduation & Awards Dinner on Friday 15 November, Adelaide Convention Centre.

As well as presenting graduating students with their Certificates of Completion, individual awards were presented as part of the College’s annual Awards Program.

The St Patrick’s Technical College Awards Program is valued over $10,000 thanks to the generosity and support of our Awards Sponsors. We are most grateful for their continued support and their commitment to our College and students.

Thank you to our 2019 Awards Sponsors:

Sponsor Thank You











Major Awards

THE LONG TAN AWARD was presented by the Australian Government in conjunction with the Australian Defence Force. Since 2006, a student in every High School in Australia has been presented with this award. The award is to recognise and encourage senior students to actively participate in the life of their schools and wider communities. 

Jackson Billingsley is the recipient of this year’s award for leadership and teamwork and was presented by Board Chairperson Mrs Tricia Hicks.

The Long Tan Award encourages the development of behaviours and attributes considered critical in Australia’s leaders of tomorrow. The award recognises demonstrated leadership and teamworkdisplay of strong values, such as doing one’s best, respect for others and “mateship” – values considered integral to both the ADF and Australian society. 

THE COLLEGE SPIRIT AWARD recognises a student of the College who has been generous in serving the needs of others and who has always acted as a role model for other students. 

Jackson Billingsley is the recipient of this year’s award and was presented by Elizabeth Adamson from Rotary Club of Elizabeth.

Jackson powerfully exemplifies all the qualities associated with this award. He is a mature, kind and respectful person, with a happy go lucky personality. During his two years at St Patrick’s Technical College, Jackson has actively involved himself in the life of the College. Jackson was recently recognised as a student who lives out values of College as a recipient of the 2019 Mary Mackillop Award. He has a genuine concern for others shown through his participation in the 2018 Cambodia Pilgrimage. This year he issued a fundraising challenge to raise money for Cancer research and shaved off his much-loved long hair to raise awareness and funds for a worthy cause.  

THE PRINCIPAL’S AWARD – STUDENT OF THE YEAR is presented to the student who the Principal, after consultation with other staff, considers to be the College’s most outstanding campusbased student. It recognises a student who has demonstrated outstanding academic and trade training performance as well as an unwavering commitment to achieving their goals and their SACE. Most importantly they exemplify the values of the College. 

This year’s Principal’s Award for the Student of the Year is Emily Rees and was presented by Wendy Burford from Totally Work Wear Salisbury.

The major award of the night, THE MAX DAVIDS AWARD – APPRENTICE OF THE YEAR, is awarded each year in memory of Max Davids who passed away in 2013. This award is named in recognition of the significant contribution made by Max in the founding and development of the College. In important ways Max is regarded as the ‘Godfather’ of our school. 

Congratulations to Cameron Anderson as the award recipient, presented by Troy Aitken from Apprentice Employment Network SA.

The evening concluded with a look back over the graduates’ journey at St Patrick’s Technical College in a photographic retrospective and finally with graduates departing the event for the commencement of their next chapter of their story.


Award Recipients
Construction Student of the Year – Deakin Summers-Hime
Construction Apprentice of the Year – Cameron Mader
Plumbing Student of the Year – Nathan Hearing
Plumbing Apprentice of the Year – Lucas Skirving
Food & Hospitality Student of the Year – Connor Robertson
Food & Hospitality Apprentice of the Year – Karmin Poulish
Hair & Beauty Student of the Year – Emily Rees
Automotive Student of the Year – Cameron North
Automotive Apprentice of the Year – Cameron Anderson
Electrotechnology Student of the Year – Jack McPhee
Electrotechnology Apprentice of the Year – Jordan McDonald
Information Technology Student of the Year – Jarred Blanchette
Metals & Engineering Student of the Year – Joshua Savage
Metals & Engineering Apprentice of the Year – Tayla Carll