Five new apprentices at ASC

ASC_600px (Demo)

Last week ASC held their annual induction ceremony for commencing apprentices at its Osborne facility. In past year’s St Patrick’s Technical College has been strongly represented among the ranks of the new apprentices at ASC, but the 2014 intake has seen an unprecedented level of achievement for our students.

Of the 21 new apprentices presented with their helmets, five are products of St Patrick’s.

First Year Electrical Apprentices

  • Mason Browning (’14 Applied Engineering)
  • Jarad Hearnden (’13 Applied Engineering)
  • James Robinson (’13 Applied Engineering)

First Year Engineering (Fabrication) Apprentices

  • Jack Elsom (’13 Automotive)
  • David Vaile (’13 Plumbing)

Worthy of particular note amongst this group is current Applied Engineering student, Mason Browning, who is the only school-based apprentice among the entire 2014 intake. His apprenticeship training this year will contribute to the successful attainment of his SACE.

All four other graduates successfully completed studies for their SACE at St Patrick’s last year with their Certificate II pre-apprenticeship training in Electrotechnology, Engineering, Automotive or Metal Roofing & Cladding.

ASC is Australia’s largest specialised defence shipbuilding organisation, with naval design and engineering resources unparalleled within Australia’s defence industry. Established in 1985 as Australian Submarine Corporation, ASC was chosen in 1987 as the prime contractor for the design, manufacture, delivery of the Royal Australian Navy’s fleet of Collins Class submarines. In 2003, commenced a 25-year contract with the Defence Materiel Organisation (DMO) for the ongoing repair, maintenance and design upgrades of the submarines.

In 2005, ASC was awarded the role of Shipbuilder for the Hobart Class Air Warfare Destroyer (AWD) project. This program will see the most advanced and complex warships ever built in Australia being constructed at ASC’s state-of-the-art shipbuilding facility at Osborne over the coming years.

We congratulate all five boys on their outstanding achievement and wish them well in their new careers!