Class of 2020 Graduation & Awards Dinner

Graduation_setup (Demo)

On Friday 13 November, over 300 family, friends, staff and industry partners celebrated the achievements of our Year 12 students at the St Patrick’s Technical College Class of 2020 Graduation & Awards Dinner, Sfera’s Park Suites & Convention Centre.

As well as presenting students with graduating certificates, individual awards were presented as part of the College’s annual Awards Program.

The St Patrick’s Technical College Awards Program is valued over $10,000 thanks to the generosity and support of our Awards Sponsors. We are most grateful for their continued support and their commitment to our College and students.

Thank you to our 2020 Awards Sponsors:











Major Awards

ADF LONG TAN AWARD was presented by the Australian Government in conjunction with the Australian Defence Force. Since 2006, a student in every High School in Australia has been presented with this award. The award is to recognise and encourage senior students to actively participate in the life of their schools and wider communities. 

James McDonald was the recipient of this year’s award for leadership and teamwork and was presented by the College’s Chairperson of the Board, Pat Bosco.

The Long Tan Award encourages the development of behaviours and attributes considered critical in Australia’s leaders of tomorrow. The award recognises demonstrated leadership and teamwork, display of strong values, such as doing one’s best, respect for others and “mateship” – values considered integral to both the ADF and Australian society. 

ADF FUTURE INNOVATORS AWARD was presented to Information Technology student Aiden Hawke. The ADF Future Innovators Award was a new addition in 2020. The Australian Defence Force (ADF) Future Innovators Award was introduced to recognise Australian students’ science, mathematics, engineering and technology abilities and encourage the continued development of these skills.

THE COLLEGE SPIRIT AWARD recognises a student of the College who has been generous in serving the needs of others and who has always acted as a role model for other students. Raymond Berwick was the recipient of this award and was presented by Rose Caon from MEGT Australia.

Raymond is a kind spirit who has displayed a remarkable level of resilience. Raymond faced the additional challenge of living independently as a Year 12 student, yet he managed to complete his Certificate II in Kitchen Operations and his SACE studies. He can rise to any challenge and remain positive in the face of adversity. He possesses an energy and aura that is inviting, welcoming and honest. Raymond is a good friend to others and has the potential to really excel if he pursues his goals with ferocity and determination.

THE PRINCIPAL’S AWARD – STUDENT OF THE YEAR is presented to the student who the Principal, after consultation with other staff, considers to be the College’s most outstanding campus–based student. It recognises a student who has demonstrated outstanding academic and trade training performance as well as an unwavering commitment to achieving their goals and their SACE. Most importantly they exemplify the values of the College. 

The 2020 Principal’s Award for the Student of the Year was Michael Kayal and was presented by Wendy Burford from Totally Work Wear Salisbury.

The major award of the night, THE MAX DAVIDS AWARD – APPRENTICE OF THE YEAR, is awarded each year in memory of Max Davids who passed away in 2013. This award is named in recognition of the significant contribution made by Max in the founding and development of the College. In important ways Max is regarded as the ‘Godfather’ of our school. 

Congratulations to Steven King as the award recipient, presented by Adam Wiles from North East Vocational College (NEVC).

The evening concluded with a look back over the graduates’ journey at St Patrick’s Technical College in a photographic retrospective and finally with graduates departing the event for the commencement of their next chapter of their story.


Award Recipients
Construction Student of the Year – Riley Shaw
Construction Apprentice of the Year – James McDonald
Plumbing Student of the Year – Corbin Schubert
Plumbing Apprentice of the Year – Mason Davis
Food & Hospitality Student of the Year – Jack Tearle
Food & Hospitality Apprentice of the Year – Angela Lebani
Hair & Beauty Student of the Year – Gabriella Candido
Hair & Beauty Apprentice of the Year – Seren Hawley
Automotive Student of the Year – Leighton Fenney
Automotive Apprentice of the Year – Steven King
Electrotechnology Student of the Year – Ashton Hurley
Electrotechnology Apprentice of the Year – Tait Stringer
Information Technology Student of the Year – Michael Kayal
Metals & Engineering Student of the Year – Brandon O’Connell
Metals & Engineering Apprentice of the Year – Christopher Skelton